YAY!

aquarell

aquarell by Rafakoy licenced under CC by A

 So, the tests were ready, we needed a few different ones. Some students had mastered the first lot of skills long before, but that didn’t matter I told them. There were so many other things happening in #AoD, that the tests were put on the long finger for a little while. I told them if you can do it now, you can still do it later, just review – wake up and use those brain cells.  There are different versions of the test, as some students weren’t ready and so they will sit their first test later.

Nervous? Yes, myself and my teaching partner were. #AoD, it’s felt really good. They look like they are learning. They sound like they are learning. It’s a wonderful working atmosphere in the classroom, but when push comes to shove would they be able to pull that mathematics out under test conditions. First time reading this blog? Thinking what is this #AoD? What has worked? Read the first post, not too far down, or click here.

Boy oh boy oh boy did they learn! I am so proud of them I could burst. There were a couple of kids that I feared were moving too quickly, to keep up with their friends. The results showed some gaps, but that enabled me to have a chat with them about appropriate pace and not worrying about everyone else. Do what you do really well and then move up the ladder.

Algebra say what?
Algebra say what? by demandaj licenced under CC by A SA NC

We are an MYP school, so we assess with criteria and most students scored in the top band. The mistakes that were being made were what we refer to as “whoopses” not a lack of understanding of the content or skills.Things that NASA worries about. I don’t think tests are the be all end all, and I’ve said this before. When universities and others at the top change their approach to the selection of students, then they won’t be as pervasive in our schooling systems. We have cut down on them, and students let us know when they feel ready to take them.

Delighted faces arrived at my room to pick up their tests to take them home for their parents to sign. Seeing smiles in mathsland is such a reward.

Last week we broke up the #AoD with a visiting professor of mathematics from The USA, Dan Canada. He was interested to see what was happening at UNIS, he has a relative at UNIS, and dropped in on some of the UNIS classes to have a looksee. I want as many people to know about #AoD as possible for input. I know it is not a perfect system and can be improved, so that’s why I blog and have it on a public wiki. Now we might get even more feedback or even get other schools using it.

Dan also ran some probability sessions with my classes to think about theory versus reality. Incredibly interesting, fun and I let him at my 8s, 11s and 12s. More in another post.

One thought on “YAY!

Leave a Reply

